Skip to main content

Vanguard®

(152) | $$$$$
Every seat in the family-friendly Vanguard could be your best seat. It features two seats with Moto-Massage® DX jets, and jets to soothe your neck, shoulders, back and feet.
People 6 Seats
Seating Lounge
Voltage 230 V
Size 7’3” x 7’3” x 36” | 220 cm x 220 cm x 91 cm
Water Care FreshWater® Salt System Ready
Exclusive Moto-Massage® DX Jet
Optional Bluetooth® Music System
BellaFontana® with Three Illuminated Arcs of Water
Exterior and Interior LED Lighting
Play Video

Choose Your Colors

Cabinet

  • Walnut
  • Bronze
  • Sandstone
  • Driftwood
  • Brushed Nickel
  • Shale

Shell

  • Alpine White
  • Ice Gray
  • Ivory
  • Tuscan Sun
  • Desert
  • Alpine White
  • Ivory
  • Tuscan Sun
  • Desert
  • Alpine White
  • Ivory
  • Tuscan Sun
  • Desert
  • Alpine White
  • Ice Gray
  • Tuscan Sun
  • Platinum
  • Alpine White
  • Ice Gray
  • Alpine White
  • Ice Gray
  • Platinum
Actual colors and product may differ from on-screen representation. Please see your local dealer to verify.

View this spa in your space

Shop and compare models virtually, in any color combination, and see how they look in your space with the Virtual View AR app.

View model in 360°

Shop around with the Hot Spring® Spas Virtual Product Tour. Get a close-up view of the unique features of this model and others in each Collection.

Vanguard Jet System

>
Click the + on each seat to learn more.

Moto-Massage® Bucket Seat

Shaped to comfortably cradle your body for a long relaxing soak.

Moto-Massage® DX Jet

Two moving streams of water sweep up and down the length of your back for an unparalleled massage experience.

Play Video
Directional Precision® Jet

Adjustable up, down, right and left for a pinpoint muscle treatment and targeted massage right where you want it.

Play Video
JetStream® Jet

Adjustable directional jets provide a powerful stream for a deep and soothing massage. Personalize with ComfortControl®.

Play Video
>
Click the + on each seat to learn more.

Bench Seat

Upright to support your back plus extra room to change your position for more hydrotherapy options.

Directional Precision® Jet

Adjustable up, down, right and left for a pinpoint muscle treatment and targeted massage right where you want it.

Play Video
JetStream® Jet

Adjustable directional jets provide a powerful stream for a deep and soothing massage. Personalize with ComfortControl®.

Play Video
>
Click the + on each seat to learn more.

Moto-Massage® Bucket Seat

Shaped to comfortably cradle your body for a long relaxing soak.

Moto-Massage® DX Jet

Two moving streams of water sweep up and down the length of your back for an unparalleled massage experience.

Play Video
JetStream® Jet

Adjustable directional jets provide a powerful stream for a deep and soothing massage. Personalize with ComfortControl®.

Play Video
>
Click the + on each seat to learn more.

Bench Seat

Upright to support your back plus extra room to change your position for more hydrotherapy options.

SoothingStream® Jet

A broad stream of water spins through multiple openings for a powerful pulsing effect. Personalize with ComfortControl®.

Play Video
JetStream® Jet

Adjustable directional jets provide a powerful stream for a deep and soothing massage. Personalize with ComfortControl®.

Play Video
>
Click the + on each seat to learn more.

Cooldown Seat

Elevated to help you adjust body temperature when entering and exiting the spa.

JetStream® Jet

Adjustable directional jets provide a powerful stream for a deep and soothing massage. Personalize with ComfortControl®.

Play Video
>
Click the + on each seat to learn more.

Bench Seat

Upright to support your back plus extra room to change your position for more hydrotherapy options.

Rotary Hydromassage Jet

Two large jet streams spin in a rhythmic circular motion for a deep muscle massage. Personalize with ComfortControl®.

Play Video
JetStream® Jet

Adjustable directional jets provide a powerful stream for a deep and soothing massage. Personalize with ComfortControl®.

Play Video

Find a Dealer

We offer a nationwide network of certified Hot Spring Spas dealers to help you find a spa that's just right for you.

Search U.S. by State

Search Canada by Province

Not in U.S. or Canada?

Model Specifications

Compare

Pricing Guide
$$$$$
Total Seats
6
Lounge Seat
Dimensions
7’3” x 7’3” x 36”
220 cm x 220 cm x 91 cm
Water Care System
FreshWater® Salt System Ready
Voltage
230 V
Water Capacity
335 g
1,275 L
Dry Weight
695 lb.
315 kg
Filled Weight*
4,540 lb.
2,070 kg
*Includes water and an adult weighing 175 lb. for every seat.

Jet Count
38
Jet Types
2 - Moto-Massage® DX
2 - SoothingStream®
2 - JetStream®
2 - Rotary Hydromassage
1 - Directional Hydromassage
27 - Directional Precision®
Comfort Control®
SmartJet® System
Jet Pump 1
Wavemaster® 9200
Two-Speed
2.5 HP Continuous Duty
5.2 HP Breakdown Torque
Jet Pump 2
Jet Pump 3

100% No-Bypass Filtration
High-Flow Tri-X® Filters
Dual-Action Filtration
Polyester Filters with Free-Flow Core
Effective Filtration Area
325 sq. ft.
Water Care System
FreshWater® Salt System Ready
Circulation Pump
SilentFlo 5000®
Floor Drain

Insulation
Multiple Layers of Urethane Foam
Proprietary Heater
Titanium No-Fault® 4,000 W / 230 V
Patented Pump Shroud
Custom-Fit Insulated Cover
3.5” to 2.5” Tapered, 2-Pound Density Foam Core with Hinge Seal
Bottom Seal
Insulated Polymeric Base Pan
Energy Standards
Meets California Energy Commission (CEC) and APSP 14 Energy Efficiency Standards for Portable Spas

Control System
IQ 2020® with Wireless Remote Touchscreen
230 V / 50 amp, 60 Hz
Includes G.F.C.I. Protected Subpanel
Diagnostic/Ready Light

Cabinet Colors
Walnut
Bronze
Sandstone
Driftwood
Brushed Nickel
Shale
Shell Colors
Alpine White
Ice Gray
Ivory
Platinum
Desert
Tuscan Sun
Cover Colors
Chocolate
Smoke
Water Feature
Lighting System - Interior
Customizable LED Zone Lighting
Lighting System - Exterior
Multi-Color LED Lighting with Timer
Polymeric Subtructure

Cover Lifters
CoverCradle®
CoverCradle II
UpRite®
Lift ‘n Glide®
Steps
Highlife® Collection Step
Bluetooth® Music System
Subwoofer
CoolZone Cooling System
FreshWater® III Ozone System

No-Leak Shell
7 Years
Shell Surface
7 Years
Cabinet
5 Years
No-Leak Plumbing
5 Years
No-Fault® Heater
5 Years
Component Warranty
5 Years
Interior Light Assembly
2 Years
Wireless Remote Control Battery
1 Year

Vanguard Reviews

See what real Hot Spring spa owners are saying about their hot tubs.
This is the best money we have ever spent. We enjoy it almost every day. So easy to operate. My muscles thank me every day!
Hot Spring spa owner, North Carolina
Vanguard is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 152.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Hot Tub...Salt System not so much We love the comfort of the Vanguard and its perfect for having friends and family over. However we still have yet to see the SaltWater system keep chlorine at the right levels and continually have to add chlorine. We even drained and refilled the spa and the Salt System does not seem to work as advertised. I wouldn't spend the extra money on it.
Date published: 2022-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from leaked Had my spa about 3 months, it was nice while it lasted. Spa began to leak profusely and was not repairable. No help from manufacturer and no help from dealer. When law suit was brought up, I Received a refund and now I have no spa, they took it away. I would have gladly accepted a repair or replacement of the spa but I could get nothing. awful experience and I would never recommend a hot spring brand spa to anyone.
Date published: 2022-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love our new Vanguard We purchased a Vanguard with Freshwater salt system. Once filled and balanced, it has been a dream to maintain! However, we should have done a wet test because we find the corner seats so deep it is hard to maintain position while the jets are on. Aside from that, we love every aspect of the spa and use it daily. Customer service has been great - especially from John and crew in the service department. I highly recommend a Hotsprings Highlife catagory spa!
Date published: 2022-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inside material. The spa inside material is very slippery when getting in and out.
Date published: 2022-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vangard review by Conger Needs cup holders. Steps should be included in base price. The Vanguard ls great model, easy to use and maintain. Our dealer was exceptional professional, knowledgeable about Hotsprings product, installation of tub and pleasant to work with. Debra receives 5 stars.joe
Date published: 2022-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for 6 Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my hot tub, but no way 6 people of regular size are going to fit in here. My husband and I are 5”5 and 5”7 and our legs keep hitting each other, I can’t imagine taller people sharing with us. But for the two of us, it’s incredible.
Date published: 2022-08-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as original This spa is replacing a 20+ year old Grandee. I am disappointed, I thought newer would be better. The placement of the step in on the Vanguard makes it tricky to get in and out. The jets are actually too strong and you don't have as much control over their pressure as you did on the older model. The fountain feature is nice as is the remote control, that does sometimes take a few attempts to get it to work, wish that warranty was longer as it might be a problem down the road.
Date published: 2022-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vanguard Tub We have really been happy with the tub and especially the salt water system. It is almost maintenance free and no strong chlorine smell. The water does not dry out skin as with a chlorine system. Thanks, Ken
Date published: 2022-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Easy to install and setup. The Energy Plus Duluth, Mn installation team were great. Within 3 hours of arriving at the time scheduled, the spa was up and running.
Date published: 2022-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Days Again We are amazed at how low maintenance the salt water system is and the water has been crystal clear like the day we filled it 3 months ago when it was new! We love the look of the spa and the feel of the jest. This is our second Watkins made spa. We moved recently and the new spa was for our new home
Date published: 2022-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not enough jet options Spa is nice.... good size.... comfortable seats... but not enough options for the jets. For the cost of the spa you would think there would be more flexibility on the jet settings. There should be an on/off option for the water feature. There are only two jet options where the water feature is off. The other four run only with the water feature on. Sometimes the water feature gets in the way.
Date published: 2022-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment by far! Our spa is a saving grace. This world is a mess right now and to escape and lose yourself in pure relaxation is a must! The vanguard model has shown us that we can rejuvenate our minds, our bodies, and our souls. All within the comforts of this amazing spa! At least twice a day we soak! This has become part of our daily routine. If you are even thinking “ is it worth the money?” The answer, you can’t put a price on the benefits of owning the vanguard, so, Yes, you will never question this purchase!
Date published: 2022-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage, No Parts Support First it arrived new with a drain fitting un-usable. Took two mo. to get the part - or so the Retailer said. Watkins Inc. makes this thing. I don't have a clew what else they do. But forget trying to get a part. The exorbitant parts are only sold to "dealers." So next a "moto jets" goes out. To get at it the tech says "I've got to take off the siding." It is glued in place and breaks. 3-5 mo. to replace, when about that time the heater goes out. Another 3 mo. Then the other moto jet goes out, guess what, gotta ripe and break the siding which is glued on, to get at it. Now don't blame it on the manufacturer. They all seem to have altzimeimer's. Maybe it is the Whisky or the Parkinson's. Next, the heater had to be replaced. But the replacement part has the wrong ground - and had to be gerry rigged. Next it starts leaking, It has been leaking for about 2 yr. while the repair guy tries to get parts. (is that true? Who the heck know? Watkins only will talk to the dealer.) Now the Repair person wants $35H to replace the control panel, which after 10 years, Watkins no longer has available and therefor may be "weeks" trying to get one. DO NOT GO NEAR WATKINS OR HOT SPRINGS. RUN RUN RUN!!!!
Date published: 2022-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Vanguard The overall quality is very good. The method of attachment for the underwater light circuit board needs to be more substantial. Upon installation at my house the board and lights came loose and fell to the bottom deck inside the control section. Both water drain lines need to have more robust attachment to the tub so the connectors don't twist when attaching the cap.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second time around for us. We had a Vanguard in the house we recently sold. After purchasing another home without a hot tub we hesitated buying another Hot Springs Vanguard because it didn't fit in our budget. Then we looked at other hot tubs and made the choice to give up other things and go with another Vanguard. Every day when we use it we are thankful for this decision. Not sure about the energy efficiency yet because we haven't had it long enough. Can't rate the "Value" excellent because it is expensive but I guess you get what you pay:-)
Date published: 2022-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tub except First time owning a Hot tub. have owned tube for 4 months. Still learning the nuances of tub maintenance. Great family, memory creator. Tub is a Salt model and chemical usage is very low and cost to heat is also low. Only issue is the filter system, (same as all hot tubs) cartridges do not filter out small particles as a sand or diatomaceous filter. An easy fix that manufacturers could correct.
Date published: 2022-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Spa with some initial quality problems The Vanguard is an amazing spa. I bought Hot Springs spa again because my 1994 Grandee lasted 28 years! My only complaint is that it was installed with a bad sensor that had to be replaced within 24 hours, and within 4 weeks - moto-massage jet broke and had to be replaced. Grateful for the warranty! Hoping this is not a pattern indicative of decrease in quality. I hope to have this tub for 25 years! Dealer has been amazingly helpful and responsive!
Date published: 2022-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First Hot Tub After researching and talking to friends we decided on the Hot Springs Vanguard. We are very pleased with our decision.
Date published: 2022-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love our Vanguard Hot Tub We have always wanted a hot tub but never had a place for one. Now that we are in a new home, we planned for one to fit into our landscape design. We had no clue how much this spa would positively impact our lives. The evenings this time of year are very cool . . . down to low 30's. The mad dash to the spa is rewarded by the most luxurious heated dip into peace and serenity. Sometimes we will just sit soaking in the tub without the jets to absorb the warmth as we listen to nature happening around us. Truly, a spiritual event. Then the bubbles come on and soothe the sore muscles. The ambience of heat, colored lights, perfectly placed water jets, good company, and an occasional sound system that we bring spa-side make this evening event (yes, almost every evening) something to look forward to from the time we get up. Finally, there is no mad dash back to the house as the tub has warmed us enough to make the walk back more easy. Couldn't recommend this system more highly.
Date published: 2022-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Caveat Emptor I purchased my spa on the recommendation of a local dealer. After waiting nearly 8 months for it to be built/delivered, it finally showed up and was installed into my deck without any issues. That is, until it was filled with water which immediately revealed a major leak in the spa. The leak was not in a place that was observable or repairable, so my dealer was forced to uninstall the entire unit for repair. I had used it exactly 1 time before it was ripped out of my deck to be fixed. Not good, to say the least. My dealer then informed me that this happens frequently to spas made by this manufacturer - something I wish I had known before I bought it. Caveat emptor indeed.
Date published: 2022-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hot tub Great hot tub just a little deep for my 5foot 1 wife
Date published: 2022-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love our hot tub! We purchased our Hotsprings hot tub because after researching other hot tubs, we felt that it was the best manufactured and quality. I have back issues and we wanted the best. We made the right purchase! We’ve had it several years(over 20 years), run it year round, and have only had to make minor repairs, and replace our cover.
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Vanguard We love our Hot Spring Vanguard hot tub! This is our first hot tub. We were a little nervous about the level of maintenance level involved but jumped in based on reassurances from the sales representative and the support team. They were right! Once you get the levels right and learn a few things, it’s a pretty low touch maintenance cycle to keep your spa clean, healthy and enjoyable. For me, a Hot Spring spa is highly recommended!
Date published: 2022-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hot Springs Delivers Quality We enjoyed a Hot Springs Classis hot tub for thirty years. Because of its longevity and quality we decided to stay with Hot Springs and we purchased a Vanguard from the HIghlife series. This is a quality tub down to the finest attention to detail. There are alot of improvments since our old tub was built, including the salt system for ease of maintenace, the finish is improved, and the lighting and jets are thought out in the extreme. Even our electrician, who sees many tubs from the inside out, remarked at the quality of construtction. We are pleased.
Date published: 2022-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Automation I've been waiting 9 months for the app to come out! I spent a LOT of money on this hot tub for the automation not to work!
Date published: 2022-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Things to think about in future design Recommend to fill to 1” above highest jet. When filled to this level, water raises to level that it is overflowing when 3 people sit and jets are turned on. Additionally, this water level makes it impossible for a short (5’) person to sit in corner seats without being elevated, condition made worse when others enter into tub and further elevate water level. Poor scores on comfort. Higher seats with more space between water level and tubs upper edge would greatly improve comfort.
Date published: 2021-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice spa Care of water/salt system is more complex than we thought. However, the water stays clear with little to no chlorine smell. The dealership, Georgia Spa, is outstanding in their support. Have seen very small increase to electric bill, so does appear energy efficient.
Date published: 2021-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Vanguard Great so far! This is our third Hotspring and our favorite one!!
Date published: 2021-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great spa The ozonator is fantastic. Rarely do i need chorine. This is our 2nd Vanguard. The first one is still going strong and has had only one minor repair. About 8 years old. Runs all summer and winter. Winter is often -30 degrees. Only complaint is there need to be a small bump out ( foot rest) underwater so when I am sitting (lounging) back in the corner I don’t slide off the seat
Date published: 2021-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leaks While this is a very nice hot tub after 2 plus years of the dealer chasing leaks it still leaks more than my hot tub is the colanders I use to drain pasta
Date published: 2021-11-09
  • y_2022, m_12, d_2, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_152
  • loc_, sid_n0005, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hotspring

Accessories

Specifically designed for your Hot Spring spa, these additions help you get the most out of your experience.

FreshWater Salt System

FreshWater Salt System

A revolution in water care that helps you spend more time enjoying your spa and less time maintaining it.

Learn More
Cover Lifters

Cover Lifters

Patented cover lifters make opening and closing the spa cover simple, helping maintain the life of your cover.

Learn More
Entertainment

Entertainment

An optional Bluetooth® music system can be added for streaming high-quality sound to your spa.

Learn More
Steps

Steps

Designed to match the spa cabinets, steps help you more confidently move in and out of your spa.

Learn More

Browse More 6-Seat Hot Tubs

Sovereign® Sovereign®

Sovereign®

Highlife® Collection

6 Seats|$$$$$
Flair® Flair®

Flair®

Limelight® Collection

6 Seats|$$$$$
Relay® Relay®

Relay®

Hot Spot® Collection

6 Seats|$$$$$

Shop Other Hot Tub Collections

With three different hot tub Collections, you’ll find one that’s just right for you. 

Limelight® Collection

Limelight® Collection

Advanced design and features. A cut above.

View Collection
Hot Spot® Collection

Hot Spot® Collection

Quality, performance, and value. Maximize your every day.

View Collection

How to Buy a Hot Tub

Get information on pricing, installation, and options for customizing your hot tub.

Learn More

Visualize That Perfect Spa in Your Space

Use the free Virtual View AR app to view and compare spa models.

Learn More
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.